State Stories


2016 Competitive Dance

Bookmark and Share

The fourth annual edition of the IHSA Competitive Dance State Finals returns to U.S. Cellular Coliseum in Bloomington on Friday and Saturday, January 29-30. Friday’s prelims will feature 90 total teams (30 per class) and the Top 10 teams in each class based on Friday’s results will move on to perform again in Saturday’s finals.

Every performance this weekend will be streamed live on the NFHS Network via with a subscription, while recaps from Saturday’s finals will also be rebroadcast on Comcast Sports Net Chicago on numerous dates beginning February 14 (click for times/channel info).

For more info on the rules and regulations of the IHSA Competitive Dance State Finals, check out our dance primer from the inagural event in 2013.

First-Time Qualifiers: 3, Illini West; Gardner-South Wilmington; Montini
Four-Time Qualifiers: 14, Aurora Central Catholic; Effingham St. Anthony; Fieldcrest; Highland; IC Catholic; Johnsburg; Mahomet-Seymour; Mascoutah; Mattoon; Morris; Normal University; Peotone; Quincy Notre Dame; Triad
Sectional Champions: Morris (91.13); Genoa-Kingston (89.77); Tolono University (89.77); Normal University (88.37); Highland (88.30)
Mahomet-Seymour cemented its status as one of the state’s top programs a year ago by bringing home its first state title. Meanwhile, Highland continued its amazing tradition as well in 2015, tying for third-place to ensure its third trophy in as many years, including a state championship in 2013. Villa Grove shared third-place with the Bulldogs last season in its first trip to the state finals and looks for another trophy finish this weekend. Genoa-Kingston (5th) and Tolono Unity (7th) each had Top 10 finishes a year ago in their first trips to state and have built on that success with Sectional crowns last week. Last year’s runner-up, Triad, will be back in the mix once again, while Sectional champ Morris aims for its first state final trophy and fourth Top 10 finish in tourney history. St. Anthony has been equally consistent, placing third in 2013 and following that by finishing in sixth place in both 2014 and 2015.

First-Time Qualifiers: 4, Deerfield, Grant, Kenwood, Normal Community West
Four-Time Qualifiers: 9, Crystal Lake Central; Crystal Lake South; Fenton; Hinsdale South; Lakes; Lincoln-Way West; Normal Community; Oak Forest; Vernon Hills
Sectional Champions: Geneva (93.37); Oak Forest (93.13); Wauconda (91.70); Lincoln-Way West (91.23); Libertyville (88.93)
Two-time defending Class 2A state champion Geneva tries to make it three in a row this weekend, but the Vikings will have to overcome a field of perennial powers to earn a threepeat. That group includes fellow Sectional champs Libertyville (2nd in 2015) and Lincoln-Way West (3rd in 2015), who both earned trophies last year and have two consecutive Top 10 finishes. Lakes has just missed a trophy the past two years, finishing fourth each time, while Vernon Hills has never placed outside the Top 5 in the three years of the tourney, including a runner-up finish in 2013. Crystal Lake Central was the state champ in the inaugural event, while Oak Forest broke into the Top 10 last year (7th) for the first time in three tries and enters with the momentum of a Sectional title. In addition, three more Top 10 teams from 2015 return in Blue Island Eisenhower, St. Francis, and Fenton, the latter of whom placed third in 2013.

First-Time Qualifiers: 4, Conant, Plainfield East, Schaumburg, Wheaton Warrenville South
Four-Time Qualifiers: 12, Downers Grove South; Fremd; Lake Park; Libertyville; Maine South; Mundelein; Neuqua Valley; O'Fallon; Sandburg; South Elgin; Stevenson; York
Sectional Champions: Neuqua Valley (94.97); Lake Park (93.37); Barrington (91.93); Edwardsville (91.67); Maine South (87.80)
It’s no surprise to see Neuqua Valley among the 2016 Sectional winners after the Wildcats won the Class 3A state title last year with the second highest Saturday score in state final history. The team who holds the top mark of all-time, Maine South, also won a Sectional crown this year and hopes to return to its state title form of 2013 after a two-year hiatus from the Top 10. 2014 state champ Lake Park placed second last year less than a point behind Neuqua Valley, while fellow returnee Lake Zurich placed third a year ago in its first trip to state. Stevenson has been the model of consistency in the first three years of competition, placing second, third, and fourth, respectively. Edwardsville hopes to ride the wave of its Sectional title to the first Top 10 finish in school history, while Barrington’s Sectional crown comes on the heels of placing fifth a year ago, one year after the Fillies were the Class 3A runner-up. Minooka was .05 points from a Top 5 finish last year, while Glenbard North (7th), Fremd (8th), Mundelein (9th) and Bartlett (10th) all return after Top 10 finishes last season.

4th annual State Series
4th year at U.S. Cellular Coliseum

U.S. Cellular Coliseum (Bloomington)
Hosted by Bloomington-Normal Area Convention & Visitors Bureau  &  BN Sports Commission


Prelim Team Order

Finals Team Order

Friday, January 29
Session 1
10:15 AM - 1A Prelims

1:30 PM - 1A Finalists announced

Session 2
3:15 PM - 2A/3A Prelims (rotate between 2A/3A)

7:45 PM - 2A/3A Finalists announced

Saturday, January 30
Session 3
11:00 AM - 1A Finals

12:15 PM - 1A Awards

2:00 PM - 2A/3A Finals (rotate between 2A/3A)

3:45 PM - 2A Awards

4:00 PM - 3A Awards


All performances available LIVE on

CSN Chicago Finals Recap Rebroadcast Schedule

Friday Prelim Results

Saturday Final Results

$10 per day

Play Smart. Play Hard.

Take the PSPH pledge...

Twitter - @IHSAstate

Instagram - @IHSA_IL

Classic IHSA YouTube Video

Gear from Minerva

Photos from VIP

Souvenir Program

2016 Sectional Results

Record Book & Past Champions