State Stories


2017 IHSA All-State Academic Team Presented by Caterpillar Announced

Bookmark and Share
IHSA Assistant Executive Director Stacey Lambert announced the 26 members of the 2017 IHSA All-State Academic Team presented by Caterpillar on Monday, February 14, 2017:

"This group is the best of the best,” said Lambert. “They embody the IHSA’s mission, excelling in the classroom, in addition to the multiple sports and activities that they participate in. It really is an accomplishment just to be nominated for this award, and I hope the schools and communities that had winners are as proud of this accomplishment as we are to have these young people represent the IHSA.”

Every IHSA member school was invited to nominate one female student and one male student to be a part of the prestigious team. Nominees needed to possess a minimum 3.50 grade point average on a 4.0 scale after their 7th semester, have participated in at least two IHSA sponsored activities during each of the last two years of high school and demonstrated outstanding citizenship.

The nominations were evaluated by a committee made up of IHSA principals, athletic directors and activities directors. One male winner and one female winner from each of the seven IHSA Board of Directors Divisions were selected initially, while the final 12 spots on the team were then rounded out with at-large candidates from anywhere in the state.

The IHSA received over 430 nominations for the 2016-17 team.

2016-17 All-State Academic Team

Grace Baalman, Hardin (Calhoun)
Warren Blood, Winnetka (New Trier)
Morgan Bollinger, Lockport (Twp.)
Taylor Cook, Nashville
Rafael Curran, Chicago (St. Ignatius College Prep)
Myles Davis, Chicago (Payton)
Jake Gillum, Metamora
Brianna Gist, Chicago (St. Ignatius College Prep)
Tim Krashevsky, Vernon Hills
Irwin Loud, Oak Park (O.P.-River Forest)
Jenna Lutzow, Belvidere (North)
Claudia Magnussen, Pana (H.S.)
Kendyl McFarland, Monticello
William Meador, Carbondale (H.S.)
Annemarie Michael, Urbana (University)
Emma Moravec, Downers Grove (North)
Angeline Needs, Peru (St. Bede)
Tyler Pasley, Shelbyville
Matthew Pereira, Lake Zurich
Luke Sloan, Taylorville
Logan Thoms, Okawville
Kahlil Wassell, New Berlin
Brooke Wilson, Mt. Prospect (Prospect)
Emma Wilson, Chicago (Jones)
Melissa Wohrley, Mendota
Vince Zona, LaGrange (Lyons)

2016-17 Honorable Mention Team

Jeremy Adams, Chicago (Jones)
Christopher Ahlers, Sterling (Newman Central Catholic)
Elle Basler, Anna (A.-Jonesboro)
Sydney Beard, Robinson
Bridget Bishop, Rockford (Boylan)
Andie Bolton, Champaign (St. Thomas More)
Reagan Bush, Rock Island (Alleman)
Jack Christensen, Lake Villa (Lakes)
Jade Christensen, Frankfort (Lincoln-Way East)
Natalie Cokel, Princeville
Sean Cooke, Glen Ellyn (Glenbard South)
Alicia Davis, Mt. Zion
Lucas Denney, Rochester
Jacob Dickson, Grant Park
Erik Durand, Pecatonica
Michaela Dwyer, Chicago (Mother McAuley)
Jake Eberhart, Yorkville
Robert Falconer, Downers Grove (North)
Elaine Fitzgerald, Troy (Triad)
William Fox, Hamilton
Jacob Fritchie, Palestine
Jeffery Gifford, Clifton (Central)
Claire Goldman, Chicago (Payton)
Brendan Grigg, Troy (Triad)
Erin Hosto, LaMoille
Derek Jones, Argenta (A.-Oreana)
Olivia Jordan, Moweaqua (Central A&M)
Megan Lee, Camp Point (Central)
Lexy LeMar, Rochelle
Rachel Lienemann, Chicago (Luther North)
Caleb Logan, Pinckneyville
Andrew Lueschow, Elmwood
Sean Macander, Chicago (St. Rita)
Cara Mahoney, Palos Hills (Stagg)
Patrick May, Jacksonville (Routt)
Marshall McDorman, Monmouth (United)
Julia Megazzini, Yorkville
Jacob Moser, Algonquin (Jacobs)
Katelyn Obert, Liberty
Derek Oxford, Benton
Britt Peyton, Norris City (N.C.-Omaha-Enfield)
Shelby Siltman, Stanford (Olympia)
Anne Snyders, Jerseyville (Jersey)
Emily Struble, Carrollton
Carlyn Uhlir, River Forest (Trinity)
Michael Valicento, Chicago (St. Patrick)
Brynn Warrick, South Elgin
Caleb Washington, Palos Heights (Shepard)
Daniel Wozniak, Hoffman Estates (Conant)
Stephen Zimmer, Aurora (Marmion Academy)