Journalism Season Summaries

* Last updated at 9:57 am on Wednesday, December 5, 2018

Print this page

Season summaries include titles won (and the class they were won in), final place in state, final won-lost record, and head coach for all seasons submitted by the school or gathered from IHSA records.

A few titles are missing (complete list of missing titles). Changes and additions to these records may be made by school personnel through the IHSA Schools Center.

Key to titles: D–district, R–regional, S–sectional, U–super-sectional, Q–team qualifier for state finals, P–Chicago Public League champion (only when an automatic qualifier to the state finals).


School Titles Place Won Lost Tied Coach
Naperville (Central) S 1       Linda Kane
Winnetka (New Trier)   2       John Lucadamo
Fithian (Oakwood)   3       Tim Lee
Glenview (Glenbrook South)   3       Marshall Harris
Champaign (Centennial)   5       Brenda Searby
Belleville (West) S 6       Laurie Bielong
Arlington Heights (Hersey)   6       Janet Levin
Peoria (Richwoods)   6       Dan Kerns
Schaumburg (H.S.)   6       Rosemary Ryan
Franklin Park-Northlake (Leyden)   10       Karen Schumpp
Galena (H.S.)   10       Linda Howard
Rockford (Jefferson)   10       Barbara Erickson
Huntley S         Dennis Brown
Minooka S         Matt Thomas
Oak Lawn (Community) S         Lauren May
Urbana (University) S         David Porreca


School Titles Place Won Lost Tied Coach
Rockford (Jefferson)   1       Barbara Erickson
Lincolnshire (Stevenson) S 2       Barbara Thill
Huntley S 3       Dennis Brown
Naperville (Central)   3       Linda Kane
Palatine (Fremd) S 5       Jennifer Meils
Plainfield (Central) S 6       Renee Nieckula
Belleville (West) S 7       Laurie Bielong
Oak Lawn (Community) S 8       Lauren May
Urbana (University)   9       David Porreca
Champaign (Centennial)   10       Brenda Searby
Taylorville S         Steve Steele
Wheeling S         Karen Barrett


School Titles Place Won Lost Tied Coach
Palatine (Fremd) S 1       Jennifer Meils
Urbana (University) S 2       Dave Porreca
Naperville (Central) S 3       Linda Kane
Glenview (Glenbrook South)   4       Marshall Harris
Flossmoor (Homewood-F.)   5       Candi Helsel
Naperville (North)   6       Rosanna Catapano
Winnetka (New Trier) S 7       John Lucadamo
Huntley   8       Dennis Brown
Oak Lawn (Community) S 9       Lauren May
Bartlett   10       Jill Flanagan
Plainfield (Central)   10       Renee Nieckula
Belleville (West) S         Laurie Bielong
LaSalle (L.-Peru) S         Georgia Stohr


School Titles Place Won Lost Tied Coach
Urbana (University) S 1       David Porreca
Mt. Prospect (Prospect) S 2       Jason Block
Rolling Meadows   2       Stan Zoller
Edwardsville (H.S.)   4       Michael Dando
Huntley   5       Dennis Brown
Naperville (Central) S 6       Keith Carlson
Fithian (Oakwood)   6       Tim Lee
Glenview (Glenbrook South)   6       Marshall Harris
Mattoon   6       Amanda Bright
Palatine (Fremd) S 10       Russ Anderson
O'Fallon (H.S.)   10       Ken Cissell
Wheeling   10       Karen Barrett
Belleville (West) S         Laurie Bielong & Russ Reidelberger
Joliet (Twp.) S         Jennifer Galloy
Oak Forest S         Cheryl Harris


School Titles Place Won Lost Tied Coach
Naperville (Central) S 1       Keith Carlson & Taryen Belasich
O'Fallon (H.S.) S 2       Mary Dempsey & Ken Cissell, Kristin Strubhart
Huntley S 3       Dennis Brown
Urbana (University) S 4       David Porreca
Rolling Meadows   4       Stan Zoller
Palatine (Fremd) S 6       Russ Anderson & Leslie Hirschfeld, Jaclyn DeRose
Mt. Prospect (Prospect)   6       Jason Block & Lori Amendeo
Galena (H.S.)   8       Linda Howard
Belleville (West)   9       Laurie Bielong & Russ Reidelberger
Minooka   10       Matt Thomas & Laura Erion
Elk Grove Village (E.G.) S         Alissa Prendergast & Rachel Cieslak
Lansing (Thornton Fractional South) S         Kim Praser & Christopher Jones