Drama & Group Interpretation Champions & Runners-Up

* Last updated on March 29, 2021

Print this page

Year Champion Work Performed Director
1974 Peoria (Richwoods) Songs for Peace, Love, and Children Patty Murphy
1975 Dolton (Thornridge) Hour of Mystery: A Radio Show of the 1930's Sara Sweeney
1976 Berwyn (Morton West) Hooray for Hollywood Pat Shanahan & Fred Meyer
1977 Tremont Readers Theatre L. Joanne Miller
1978 Oak Forest (H.S.) Who Am I This Time? Marilyn Menozzi
1979 South Holland (Thornwood) Sweeney Agonistes Joanne Evans
1980 Highland Park Abelard and Heloise Barbara Greener Patterson
1981 Harvey (Thornton) Stagolee Paul Swanson & Patricia Wozny
1982 Wheaton (Central) The Hairy Man Anne Marie Gerace & Paula Schimmels
1983 Harvey (Thornton) The Patented Gate and the Mean Hamburger Paul Swanstrom & Patricia Wozny
1984 Palos Heights (Shepard) Stagolee Chet Brown
1985 Carbondale So You Want To Be a Teacher? Karen S. Mitchell
1986 Pekin Wings Fred Vogt, Greg Lhamon & Kevin Spengel
1987 Chicago Hts. (Bloom) The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn John Reimler & Lisa Newkirk
1988 South Holland (Thornwood) Jug of Silver Cheryl Clinton, Karen Eldred & Patricia Wozny
1989 Peoria (Richwoods) Death By Child Abuse...And No One Heard Steve Peters
1990 Lansing (Thornton Fractional South) Lost at C Henry Hertz
1991 South Holland (Thornwood) Children on Their Birthdays Cheryl Clinton, Karen Eldred & Patricia Wozny
1992 Downers Grove (South) The Secret Life of Walter Mitty John Hires & Jan Heiteen
1993 South Holland (Thornwood) Alice in Wonderland Cheryl Clinton, Karen Eldred & Patricia Wozny
1994 Dolton (Thornridge) The Colored Museum Tim Sweeney & Karen Eldred
1995 South Holland (Thornwood) Once on This Island Cheryl Clinton & Darcelle Williams
1996 Flossmoor (Homewood-F.) The Catcher in the Rye Jill Bonavia
1997 Harvey (Thornton) The Color Purple Roberta James
1998 Lansing (Thornton Fractional South) Wanda Hickey's Night Of Golden Memories Henry Hertz & Ann Witting
1999 Lansing (Thornton Fractional South) Alice in Wonderland Henry Hertz & Ann Witting
2000 Flossmoor (Homewood-F.) Great Expectations Jill Bonavia-Galligani, Joyce Carr, & Don Calgaro
2001 Lansing (Thornton Fractional South) A Midsummer Night's Dream Henry Hertz, Ann Witting & Nikki Orich
2002 Lansing (Thornton Fractional South) Peter Pan Henry Hertz, Ann Witting & Nikki Orich
2003 Dolton (Thornridge) The Gilded Six Bits Timothy Sweeney, Bill Kirksey, Sara Sweeney, & Tom Paliga
2004 Oak Lawn (Community) Protestants Cry, Too Mark Donaway & Dennis Anastasopoulos
2005 Sterling (H.S.) Pirates of the Caribbean Jacob Wallingford & J. Mark Beaty
2006 South Holland (Thornwood) Their Eyes Were Watching God Cheryl Frazier & Darcelle Williams
2007 Flossmoor (Homewood-F.) Lysistrata Jill Bonavia-Galligani, Janine Stroemer, & Kevin Wall
2008 Oak Lawn (Community) Me Talk Pretty One Day T. J. Kahriman & Erika Buys
2009 South Holland (Thornwood) The Bluest Eye Cheryl Frazier & Lauren Wells
2010 Chicago Heights (Marian) Protestants Cry, Too Mark Donaway
2011 Oak Lawn (Community) A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius Erika Buys & TJ Kahriman
2012 Chicago Heights (Marian) The Prize Winner of Defiance, Ohio Mark Donaway & Don Calgaro   
2013 Burbank (Reavis) The Fault in Our Stars Carmel DeStefano & Dennis Anastasopoulos
2014 Oak Lawn (Community) She Kills Monsters T.J. Kahriman, Bob Beland
2015 Palatine (Fremd) The Man Who Broke the Bank at Monte Carlo Judy Klingner
2016 Oak Lawn (Community) Ready Player One T.J. Kahriman, Bob Beland
2017 Richton Park (Southland College Prep Charter) Hidden Figures Cheryl Frazier, Lauren Wells
2018 Flossmoor (Homewood-F.) A Head Full of Dreams: The Life of John Merrick Janine Stroemer
2019 Oak Lawn (Community) How I Trumped Rudolph Steiner and Overcame the Tribulations of Illiteracy One Snickers Bar at a Time Bob Beland, Mike Olsson
2020 Cancelled due to Covid-19
2021 Oak Lawn (Community) Solutions and Other Problems Bob Beland, Mike Olsson