Girls Basketball Chronology

1891 Basketball invented at Springfield, Mass., by James Naismith.
1895 Chicago (Austin) becomes first Illinois secondary school to organize a girls basketball team.
1896 Chicago (Austin) defeats Oak Park (O.P.-River Forest) in first known girls basketball game between Illinois high schools.
1900 Four Chicago area girls teams form first high school basketball league in Illinois.
1907 Chicago Public School Superintendent Edwin G. Cooley prevents Chicago girls teams from organizing annual basketball league.
1908 IHSAA prohibits high school girls from participating in interscholastic athletics, particularly basketball.
1920 Illinois League of High School Girls Athletic Associations (ILHSGAA) formed to promote girls athletics.
1926 ILHSGAA absorbed into IHSAA.
1930 First "telegraphic" (or "postal") basket-shooting contest sponsored by the IHSAA.
1940 IHSAA (Illinois High School Athletic Association) becomes IHSA (Illinois High School Association); private schools allowed to join IHSA.
1973 IHSA allows girls to participate in interscholastic basketball contests.
1975 Final "postal" basket-shooting contest conducted.
1977 First state girls basketball tournament held at Horton Fieldhouse on the campus of Illinois State University at Normal; Sterling defeats Washington in title game.
1978 State final tournament moved to Assembly Hall in Champaign.
1979 Sub-regional stage (for small schools only) replaced by district tournament stage.
1980 Tournament split into Class A (small schools), won by Benton, and Class AA (large schools), won by East St. Louis (Lincoln); district tournament stage eliminated.
1982 In one-year experiment, state final field reduced from eight teams to four; quarterfinal games held at four sites.
1988 First tournament played under new rule allowing three-point field goal.
1990 Teutopolis becomes first school to win three consecutive titles.
1991 Class AA teams seeded in sectional complexes instead of at the regional stage; regional games played on court of higher seed.
1992 State final tournament moved to Redbird Arena in Normal and split into two consecutive weekends, Class A and Class AA, held prior to the boys tournament.
1993 "Happening" three-point contest held for first time.
2003 Chicago Public League champion no longer given automatic berth in Class AA state finals; Public League teams enter tournament at regional level in either Class A or Class AA; Class AA teams seeded in modified sectional complex with fixed regional sites.
2004 Class A teams seeded in modified sectional complex with fixed regional sites, divided into two sub-sectionals.
2005 Some Class AA sectionals seeded in two sub-sectionals.