Boys Basketball Season Summaries

* Last updated at 10:23 am on Sunday, February 18, 2024

Print this page

Season summaries include titles won (and the class they were won in), final place in state, final won-lost record, and head coach for all seasons submitted by the school or gathered from IHSA records.

A few titles are missing (complete list of missing titles). Changes and additions to these records may be made by school personnel through the IHSA Schools Center.

Key to titles: D–district, R–regional, S–sectional, U–super-sectional, Q–team qualifier for state finals, P–Chicago Public League champion (only when an automatic qualifier to the state finals).


School Titles Place Won Lost Tied Coach
Peoria (H.S.) Q 1 17 1   Les Straesser
Rock Island (H.S.) Q 2 10 5   H.E. Brown
Oak Park (O.P.-River Forest) Q 3       Wilbur Hawthorne
Hinsdale (Twp.) Q 4 9 2   Watson
Evanston (Twp.) Q   15 5   John Bixby
Geneva Q   12 3   Dan Miller
LaSalle (L.-Peru) Q   2 4   C.R. Pugh
Mt. Carroll Q          
Riverside (R.-Brookfield) Q   9 10    
St. Charles (H.S.) Q          
Wheaton (H.S.) Q   10 2    


School Titles Place Won Lost Tied Coach
Hinsdale (Twp.) DQ 1 22 3   John Snyder
Washington DQ 2 20 3   Charles Wright
Mt. Carroll Q 3        
Rock Island (H.S.) DQ 4 11 4   Anthony Udden
Bloomington (H.S.) Q   7 7   Tom O'Neill
Centralia (H.S.) DQ   3 5   Cliff Bauer
Joliet (Twp.) Q   4 2    
Mt. Vernon (H.S.) Q   12 5   W.L. Stuckey


School Titles Place Won Lost Tied Coach
Bloomington (H.S.) DQ 1 14 2   Tom O'Neill
Rock Island (H.S.) DQ 2 14 2   F.W. Gray
Hinsdale (Twp.) DQ 3 18 4   John Snyder
Mt. Vernon (H.S.) DQ 4 15 2   E.L. Harris
Mt. Sterling DQ          
Nokomis DQ         H. Buellesfield