IHSA Do What's Right! Advisory Committee Meeting

April 29, 2025

10:00 a.m.

The IHSA Do What's Right Advisory Committee met on Tuesday, April 29, 2025, in an online setting from various communities across Illinois, beginning at 10:00 a.m. Committee members present were: David Rohlman, Maple Park (Kaneland); Raeann Huhn, Wheaton (St. Francis); Chet Lines, Plainfield (South); Jenette Fruit, Earlville; Jody Steinke, Quincy (Sr.); Katie McCulley, Springfield (Lutheran); Derek Beard, Murphysboro; and Josh Schroeder, Official. Also in attendance was Dan Le, IHSA Assistant Executive Director. Not in attendance: Alahrie Aziz-Sims, Chicago (Bogan); Carlos Enriquez, Chicago (Prosser); Alexandria Rios-Taylor, Mundelein (H.S.); Isaiah Johnson, Rockford (R. Christian); Matt Koeppel, Clinton; Erin Smith, Fithian (Oakwood); Kara Harris, Greenville; and Nick Chavarria, Darien (Hinsdale South).

TERMS AND CONDITIONS RECOMMENDATIONS

None.

ADMINISTRATIVE RECOMMENDATIONS

None.

ITEMS OF DISCUSSION:

- 1. Dan Le shared that the 2025 IHSA Student Leadership Conference hosted by the IHSA Student Advisory Committee is scheduled for Monday, November 17th, 2025, at the Embassy Suites Conference Center in East Peoria.
- 2. Dan Le presented data on ejection and hate speech and harassment reports from the winter and early spring of the 2024-2025 school year. It was noted that comparing the number of reported ejections to total number of contests would be valuable data. At this time, there is not a tracker to count the total number of contests that are being conducted.
- 3. The committee reviewed a draft of language for spectator ejection protocols and discussed some potential challenges in management that the protocols are enforced. There was support from committee members to submit spectator ejection protocols as a by-law proposal.
- 4. The committee discussed concerns and challenges with student section behaviors and "Barstool" social media accounts created by students who cannot be tracked.
- 5. The committee discussed ways to recognize more positive displays of sportsmanship besides the IHSA State Finals Sportsmanship Award. The committee discussed doing more with the Sport A Winning Attitude reports that are submitted. Dan Le also shared the Indiana High School Athletic Association's sportsmanship score policy. The committee will continue to discuss ideas for recognizing good sportsmanship by teams, individuals, coaches, and/or fans.
- 6. Dan Le recognize the outgoing members of the committee and thanked them for their service. Outgoing members include: David Rohlman, Maple Park (Kaneland); Erin Smith, Fithian (Oakwood); Matt Koeppel, Clinton; and Derek Beard, Murphysboro.
- 7. The next meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, September 3, 2025.