IHSA Announces 2023-24 Officials of the Year


IHSA News & Announcements Archive


IHSA Announces 2023-24 Officials of the Year

Bookmark and Share

IHSA Officials PatchThe Illinois High School Association (IHSA) is proud to announce its 2023-24 Officials of the Year in 21 IHSA sports.  To be considered for this honor, an official must first be nominated by an Officials Association recognized by the IHSA or by an IHSA administrator. IHSA staff members then vote on the winners based on factors such as character, skill as an official, and levels worked in the IHSA State Series.

This year’s winners will be recognized during the 2024 IHSA Officials Conference, which will be held July 12-13 in Normal, Illinois.

“Participation in high school sports provides countless benefits, however, those opportunities would not exist without the hard-working men and women who choose the officiating avocation,” said IHSA Executive Director Craig Anderson. “It is an honor to be able to celebrate these 21 outstanding individuals who are so respected among their officiating peers, while also recognizing that IHSA sports continue due to the collaborative efforts of every IHSA official. We thank them all.”

See the full list of honorees by sport below:


Sport Official of the Year Hometown
Boys Soccer Jay Weis Mundelein
Girls Soccer Kevin Parker Lombard
Football Fred Steinway Quincy
Boys Basketball Darrin Sortor Sherman
Girls Basketball Kenneth Pink Arlington Heights
Boys Lacrosse Scott Rogowski Algonquin
Girls Lacrosse Patrick Nolan Elmwood Park
Baseball John Cyr Woodridge
Softball James Bauser Springfield
Girls Volleyball Sharon Walker Stanford
Boys Volleyball Aaron Woods Channahon
Boys Swimming & Diving Mark Markwell South Elgin
Girls Swimming & Diving Patricia Flesher Waukegan
Water Polo Colleen Lyons Homer Glen
Cross Country Leo Vandervlugt Chillicothe
Boys Track & Field Thomas Miller Carpentersville
Girls Track & Field Kelley Lucas Mt. Zion
Girls Gymnastics Hilary Carlson Bloomingdale
Competitive Cheerleading April Mahy New Lenox
Competitive Dance Laura Panuska Woodridge
Wrestling Derek Ryan Kankakee



Please login or register to post comments.

Theme picker