IHSA News & Announcements Archive


IHSA Announces 2019-20 Officials of the Year

Bookmark and Share

The Illinois High School Association (IHSA) is proud to announce its 2019-20 Officials of the Year in 22 IHSA sports. To be considered for this honor, an official must first be nominated by an Officials Association recognized by the IHSA. IHSA staff members then vote on the winners based on factors such as character, skill as an official, and levels worked in the IHSA State Series.

This year’s winners will be recognized at a banquet during the 2020 IHSA Officials Conference, which will be held on Saturday, July 11, 2020 at the Normal Community West High School.

"Thank you to all IHSA officials who dedicate their time and talent to high school athletics in Illinois,” said IHSA Assistant Executive Director and Officials Department administrator Sam Knox. "We understand that these individuals do not officiate for awards or recognition, but it remains a very special tradition for the IHSA to be able to honor its Officials of the Year. Congratulations to these deserving individuals!”


Sport Official of the Year Hometown
Boys Soccer Sam Nachampassack South Beloit
Girls Soccer Alex Alvarado Oswego
Football Jim Perkins Arlington Heights
Boys Basketball Tariq Lucas Lansing
Girls Basketball Marc Profancik Centralia
Boys Lacrosse Jeremy Mancilla Plainfield
Girls Lacrosse Stephen McGovern LaGrange Park
Baseball Joe Strieker Collinsville
Softball Jeff Brice Gilberts
Girls Volleyball Patti Blumhurst Mendota
Boys Volleyball Rhonda Williams Naperville
Boys Swimming & Diving Warren Holton Freeport
Girls Swimming & Diving Kevin McMurray Willow Springs
Water Polo John Hinkle Chicago
Cross Country Jeff Norton Normal
Boys Track & Field Jerzy Marszalek Sheridan
Girls Track & Field Lindsay Consdorf Palatine
Wrestling Michael Hurckes Ringwood
Boys Gymnastics Steve Kafka Downers Grove
Girls Gymnastics Leah Morgan South Elgin
Competitive Cheer Katie Clemons Dyer (IN)
Competitive Dance Katie Avery-Kacanko South Elgin



Posted In: General
Please login or register to post comments.

Theme picker