Augie Fontanetta & Travis Mackey Elected To IHSA Board of Directors; Amy McMahan & Dan Tully Win Reelection


IHSA News & Announcements Archive


Augie Fontanetta & Travis Mackey Elected To IHSA Board of Directors; Amy McMahan & Dan Tully Win Reelection

Bookmark and Share

Voting for seats on the Illinois High School Association Board (IHSA) of Directors and Legislative Commission closed at midnight on Thursday, October 1, and the results were tallied and certified Friday morning, October 2.

New Trier High School Athletic Director Augie Fontanetta (right, above) has been elected to the Division 2 seat, replacing Fremd High School’s Kurt Tenopir, who did not seek reelection. Travis Mackey (right, below), principal at Geneseo High School, has been elected to the Division 4 seat. Mackey follows outgoing Board President Tim McConnell of Erie High School, who reached his term limit after eight years of service. Fontanetta is the first athletic administrator to serve on the Association’s Board of Directors, which dates to 1901. Board seats were only eligible to be filled by high school principals until this year’s election, as the IHSA membership voted to amend that by-law last January. Athletic administrators can now be elected to the board if they serve as their school’s IHSA Official Representative.

Re-elected to the board were Amy McMahan, Principal of PORTA High School in Petersburg for Division 6, and Dan Tully, Principal of Notre Dame High School in Niles for the At-Large Private School seat.

The Board will elect its officers for the 2020-21 school term at its regular meeting on Monday, October 19.

IHSA member schools nominated candidates for the Board of Directors and Legislative Commission beginning on August 14. The nominations were counted on September 16 and votes were cast from September 20 through October 1.

Results of the election are listed below. The names of the candidates are indicated in the following list, with an asterisk preceding the name of the person elected to each seat.

Board Division 2
*Augie Fontanetta – Winnetka (New Trier)
Jeff Wardle – Buffalo Grove

Board Division 4
*Travis Mackey – Geneseo
Jeff Whitaker – Rock Island (H.S.)

Board Division 6
*Amy McMahan – Petersburg (PORTA)
Brad Gooding – Rushville (R.-Industry)

Board At-Large Private
*Dan Tully – Niles (Notre Dame)
Kathleen Porreca – Wilmette (Regina Dominican)

Commission District 3
*Sante Iacovelli – Chicago (St. Rita)
Tom Drahozal – Chicago (Morgan Park Academy)

Commission District 5
*Chuck Hiscock – Aurora (West Aurora)

Commission District 6
*Steve McWilliams – Barrington

Commission District 7
*Brad Mitchell – Elmhurst (Timothy Christian)

Commission District 9
*Tim Ricketts – Braidwood (Reed Custer)
Terry Granger – Kankakee (McNamara)

Commission District 11
*Nathan DeBaillie – Orion
Andrew Berlinski – Princeton

Commission District 13
*Steve Fiscus – Tuscola

Commission District 18
*Brent Ashbaugh – Rochester
Cody Trigg – Springfield (Southeast)

Commission District 19
*Stevie Brown – Dupo
Steve Kidd – Waterloo (Gibault)

LEGISLATIVE COMMISSION -- Athletic Administrators
Commission Division 2
*John Catalano – Northbrook (Glenbrook North)
Rebecca Moran – Round Lake Rebecca Moran – Round Lake

Commission Division 5
*Dan Sheehan – Monticello
Todd Vohland – Decatur (St. Teresa)

LEGISLATIVE COMMISSION -- At-Large Minority or Underrepresented Gender
Commission Division 3
*D'Wayne Bates – Lombard (Glenbard East)
Nick Browder – Maywood (Proviso East)

Commission Division 6
*Dawna Daily – Bushnell (B. Prairie City)


Please login or register to post comments.

Theme picker