IHSA News & Announcements Archive


2018 IHSA All-State Academic Team Presented by Caterpillar Announced

Bookmark and Share
IHSA Assistant Executive Director Stacey Lambert announced the 26 members of the 2018 IHSA All-State Academic Team presented by Caterpillar on Tuesday, February 13, 2018:

"This group is the best of the best,” said Lambert. “They embody the IHSA’s mission, excelling in the classroom, in addition to the multiple sports and activities that they participate in. It really is an accomplishment just to be nominated for this award, and I hope the schools and communities that had winners are as proud of this accomplishment as we are to have these young people represent the IHSA.”

Every IHSA member school was invited to nominate one female student and one male student to be a part of the prestigious team. Nominees needed to possess a minimum 3.50 grade point average on a 4.0 scale after their 7th semester, have participated in at least two IHSA sponsored activities during each of the last two years of high school and demonstrated outstanding citizenship.

The nominations were evaluated by a committee made up of IHSA principals, athletic directors and activities directors. One male winner and one female winner from each of the seven IHSA Board of Directors Divisions were selected initially, while the final 12 spots on the team were then rounded out with at-large candidates from anywhere in the state.

The IHSA received over 400 nominations for the 2017-18 team.

2017-18 All-State Academic Team

Grayson Armour, Carlinville
Alex Beesley, Effingham (St. Anthony)
Sarah Brady, Bloomington (Central Catholic)
Cara Buckley, Williamsville
Jordyn Bunning, Vernon Hills
Rose Carroll, Chicago (Agricultural Science)
Alex Harvey, Rochelle
Alex Hermann, Robinson
Rachel Hickey, LaSalle (L.-Peru)
Lindsey Holhubner, Vienna
Danny Kilrea, LaGrange (Lyons)
Tessa Leman, Eureka
Grace McLaughlin, Rockford (Boylan Catholic)
Melissa Manetsch, Libertyville
Michael Obroin, Chicago (St. Ignatius College Prep)
Charles Parrish, Freeburg
Lindsey Payne, Glen Ellyn (Glenbard West)
Addie Pulley, Rock Island (Alleman)
Harrison Sinclair Shapiro, Chicago (University)
Arielle Summitt, Urbana (University)
Edwin Suresh, Schaumburg (H.S.)
Alexander Tam, Libertyville
Eli TenEyck, Pittsfield
Francesca Verville, Dunlap
Zach Williard, Carbondale
Samuel Winter, Stillman Valley

2017-18 Honorable Mention Team

Sarah Acklin, St. Joseph (S.J.-Ogden)
Caroline Boehne, Centralia (Christ Our Rock Lutheran)
Colin Boysen, Algonquin (Jacobs)
Ben Buresh, Annawan
Addison Burris, Belleville (Althoff)
Carly Carril, Sparta
John Christensen, Frankfort (Lincoln-Way East)
Miles Christensen, Downers Grove (North)
Cassandra Cook, Mt. Zion
Rueben Coronel, Chicago (Jones)
David Daniels, Chicago (Marist)
Nathan Droessler, Rockford (Boylan Catholic)
Caleb Dzierzysnki, Granville (Putnam County)
Sabrina Elder, Belvidere (North)
Joseph Fioresi, Oswego (H.S.)
John Fletcher, Farmington
Taylor Gredzieleski, Elgin (St. Edward)
Erik Haneberg, Chicago (Payton)
Connor Henderson, Carterville
David Ho, Wheeling
Jackson Ivers, Waterloo (H.S.)
Katherine Kerwin, Romeoville
Catherine Malnati, Chicago (Jones)
Jason McIntyre, Oak Lawn (Richards)
Electa Munson, Hamilton
Maeve Nelson, Oak Park (O.P.-River Forest)
Fatima Olaitan, Chicago (Holy Trinity)
Nathan Peters, Oneida (ROWVA)
Tia Polite, Chicago (University)
Isaac Riddle, Beardstown
Tucker Rieman, Newton
Rebecca Ruger, Palos Hts. (Shepard)
Maryann Saba, Effingham (St. Anthony)
Kayley Schacht, Champaign (The of Saint Thomas More)
Hannah Schmidt, Bethalto (Civic Memorial)
Andrew Schollmeier, Mt. Zion
Spencer Smith, Rock Island (Alleman)
Nikita Smyrnov, Lincolnshire (Stevenson)
Caitlyn Spreitzer, Joliet (Catholic Academy)
Lauren Streitmatter, Palatine (Fremd)
Teagan Strom, Pana
Kaysie Stuba, LaGrange (Lyons)
Zachary Styka, Chicago (Mt. Carmel)
Abbi Taylor, Peoria (Christian)
Petyon Taylor, Mt. Pulaski
Kirsten Tunink, Sterling (Newman Central Catholic)
Garret Williams, Mahomet (M.-Seymour)
Taylor Wills, Carlinville
Jacob Woodrome, Nashville
Jacie Wyatt, Rochelle


Posted In: General
Please login or register to post comments.

Theme picker