State Stories


2018 IHSA All-State Academic Team Presented by Caterpillar Announced

Bookmark and Share
IHSA Assistant Executive Director Stacey Lambert announced the 26 members of the 2018 IHSA All-State Academic Team presented by Caterpillar on Tuesday, February 13, 2018:

"This group is the best of the best,” said Lambert. “They embody the IHSA’s mission, excelling in the classroom, in addition to the multiple sports and activities that they participate in. It really is an accomplishment just to be nominated for this award, and I hope the schools and communities that had winners are as proud of this accomplishment as we are to have these young people represent the IHSA.”

Every IHSA member school was invited to nominate one female student and one male student to be a part of the prestigious team. Nominees needed to possess a minimum 3.50 grade point average on a 4.0 scale after their 7th semester, have participated in at least two IHSA sponsored activities during each of the last two years of high school and demonstrated outstanding citizenship.

The nominations were evaluated by a committee made up of IHSA principals, athletic directors and activities directors. One male winner and one female winner from each of the seven IHSA Board of Directors Divisions were selected initially, while the final 12 spots on the team were then rounded out with at-large candidates from anywhere in the state.

The IHSA received over 400 nominations for the 2017-18 team.

2017-18 All-State Academic Team

Addie Pulley, Alleman High School
Alex Beesley, St. Anthony High School
Alex Harvey, Rochelle High School
Alex Hermann, Robinson High School
Alexander Tam, Libertyville High School
Arielle Summitt, Urbana University High School
Cara Buckley, Williamsville High School
Charles Parrish, Freeburg Community High School
Danny Kilrea, Lyons Township High School
Edwin Suresh, Schaumburg High School
Eli TenEyck, Pittsfield High School
Francesca Verville, Dunlap High School
Grace McLaughlin, Boylan Catholic High School
Grayson Armour, Carlinville High School
Harrison Sinclair Shapiro, Chicago University High School
Jordyn Bunning, Vernon Hills High School
Lindsey Holhubner, Vienna High School
Lindsey Payne, Glenbard West High School
Melissa Manetsch, Libertyville High School
Michael OBroin, St. Ignatius College Prep
Rachel Hickey, LaSalle-Peru High School
Rose Carroll, Chicago Agricultural Science High School
Samuel Winter, Stillman Valley High School
Sarah Brady, Central Catholic High School
Tessa Leman, Eureka High School
Zach Williard, Carbondale High School

2017-18 Honorable Mention Team

Abbi Taylor, Peoria Christian High School
Addison Burris, Althoff High School
Andrew Schollmeier, Mt. Zion High School
Ben Buresh, Annawan High School
Caitlyn Spreitzer, Joliet Catholic Academy
Caleb Dzierzysnki, Putnam County High School
Carly Carril, Sparta High School
Caroline Boehne, Christ Our Rock Lutheran High School
Cassandra Cook, Mt. Zion High School
Catherine Malnati, Jones College Prep
Colin Boysen, H.D. Jacobs High School
Connor Henderson, Carterville High School
David Daniels, Marist High School
David Ho, Wheeling High School
Electa Munson, Hamilton High School
Erik Haneberg, Walter Payton College Prep High School
Fatima Olaitan, Holy Trinity High School
Garret Williams, Mahomet-Seymour High School
Hannah Schmidt, Civic Memorial High School
Isaac Riddle, Beardstown High School
Jacie Wyatt, Rochelle High School
Jackson Ivers, Waterloo High School
Jacob Woodrome, Nashville Community High School
Jason McIntyre, Richards High School
John Christensen, Lincoln-Way East High School
John Fletcher, Farmington High School
Joseph Fioresi, Oswego High School
Katherine Kerwin, Romeoville High School
Kayley Schacht, The High School of Saint Thomas More
Kaysie Stuba, Lyons Township High School
Kirsten Tunink, Newman Central Catholic High School
Lauren Streitmatter, Fremd High School
Maeve Nelson, Oak Park and River Forest High School
Maryann Saba, St. Anthony High School
Miles Christensen, Downers Grove North High School
Nathan Droessler, Boylan Catholic High School
Nathan Peters, ROWVA High School
Nikita Smyrnov, Stevenson High School
Petyon Taylor, Mt. Pulaski High School
Rebecca Ruger, Shepard High School
Rueben Coronel, Jones College Prep
Sabrina Elder, Belvidere North High School
Sarah Acklin, St. Joseph-Ogden High School
Spencer Smith, Alleman High School
Taylor Gredzieleski, St. Edward High School
Taylor Wills, Carlinville High School
Teagan Strom, Pana High School
Tia Polite, Chicago University High School
Tucker Rieman, Newton High School
Zachary Styka, Chicago Mt. Carmel High School