State Stories


Whitney Young's Jahlil Okafor First From Illinois To Win Morgan Wootten Player of the Year Award

Bookmark and Share
One week after guiding Whitney Young to the 2014 IHSA Class 4A Boys Basketball State Championship, Whitney Young senior Jahlil Okafor was named the Morgan Wootten Player of the Year.

Okafor, who committed to play basketball for Duke University in 2015, is the first player from Illinois to win the award. A 6-11, 275-pound center, Okafor was named Illinois Mr. Basketball in 2014 and was one of three Illinois representatives (Curie’s Cliff Alexander, Marian Catholic’s Tyler Ulis) selected to play in the McDonald’s All-American game.

In the 2014 state finals, Okafor tallied 33 points and 12 rebounds in the Dolphins 75-68 semifinal victory over Stevenson and added eight points, six boards and two blocks in a 46-44 triumph over Benet in the state championship.

Below are a GIF of three dunks Okafor delivered against Stevenson and Benet during the 2014 state tourney, courtesy of Visual Image Photography:

Theme picker