Morgan Park Senior Adam Miller Named 2020 Illinois Mr. Basketball

State Stories


Morgan Park Senior Adam Miller Named 2020 Illinois Mr. Basketball

Bookmark and Share

The Chicago Tribune has named Morgan Park senior Adam Miller its 2020 Illinois Mr. Basketball award winner based on a statewide vote by coaches and media.

Miller, a 6-3 shooting guard, is committed to continue his playing career at the University of Illinois next year. He helped the Mustangs win a state championship in 2018 as a sophomore, and also returned to the state finals in Peoria as a junior in the Country Financial Three-Point Showdown, where he placed third in Class 3A.

Miller helped guide Morgan Park to a 22-9 mark this season as a senior, including a berth in the CPS Championship game. The Mustangs had advanced to the Sectional Championship before the state tournament was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Miller edged Whitney Young’s DJ Steward for the award, receiving two more first-place votes en route to a two-point edge in total voting.

Click here to read the Tribune's announcement story.

1. Adam Miller, Chicago Morgan Park, Sr., 142 points (21)
2. DJ Steward, Chicago Whitney Young, Sr., 140 points (19)
3. Max Christie, Rolling Meadows, Jr., 37 points (3)
4. Ray’Sean Taylor, Collinsville, Sr., 30 points (3)
5. Bryce Hopkins, Oak Park Fenwick, Jr., 27 points (2)
6. Dom Martinelli, Glenbard South, Sr., 25 points (3)
7. Ahron Ulis, Chicago Marian Catholic, Sr., 15 points (1)
8. Isaiah Rivera, Geneseo, Sr., 13 points
9. Ramean Hinton, Chicago Curie, Sr., 11 points
T-10. Jackson Connor, Marion, Sr., 7 points (1)
T-10. Connor Heaton, Moweaqua Central A&M, Sr., 7 points

Others receiving multiple votes: Kam Craft, Buffalo Grove, Jr., 4 points; Nate Shockey, Elmhurst York, Sr., 3 points; Troy D’Amico, Niles Notre Dame, Jr., 2 points.
Receiving one vote: DJ Williams, Thornton, Sr., 5 points; Cooper Larsen, Indian Creek, Sr., 5 points; Blake McKay, Woodlawn, Sr., 5 points; RJ Ogom, Homewood-Flossmoor, Sr., 5 points; Beau Frericks, Cary-Grove, Sr., 5 points; DaRon Hall, Glenbard East, Sr., 5 points; Connor Dillon, Peoria Notre Dame, Sr., 3 points; Taaj Davis, Aurora Christian, Sr., 3 points; Aquan Smart, Niles North, Sr., 3 points; Kaden Froebe, Lincoln, Sr., 3 points; Antoine Bloxton, Chicago Bogan, Sr., 3 points; Dante Maddox Jr., Chicago Heights Bloom, Sr., 3 points; Jaccob Dust, Effingham St. Anthony, Sr., 1 point; Darius Burford, Bolingbrook, Sr., 1 point; Robbie Avila, Oak Forest, Sr., 1 point; Jaylin McCants, Galesburg, Sr., 1 point; Ty Johnson, Chicago DePaul Prep, Jr., 1 point.

1981       Walter Downing, Providence Catholic
1982       Bruce Douglas, Quincy
1983       Marty Simmons, Lawrenceville
1984       Brian Sloan, McLeansboro
1985       Ed Horton, Springfield Lanphier
1986       Nick Anderson, Simeon
1987       Marcus Liberty, King
1988       Eric Anderson, St. Francis de Sales
1989       Deon Thomas, Simeon
1990       Jamie Brandon, King
1991       Howard Nathan, Peoria Manual
1992       Chris Collins, Glenbrook North
1993       Rashard Griffith, King
1994       Jarrod Gee, St. Martin de Porres
1995       Kevin Garnett, Farragut
1996       Ronnie Fields, Faragut
1997       Sergio McClain, Peoria Manual
1998       Frank Williams, Peoria Manual
1999       Brian Cook, Lincoln
2000       Darius Miles, East St. Louis
2001       Eddy Curry, Thornwood
2002       Dee Brown, Proviso East
2003       Shannon Brown, Proviso East
2004       Shaun Livingston, Peoria Central
2005       Julian Wright, Homewood-Flossmoor
2006       Jon Scheyer, Glenbrook North
2007       Derrick Rose, Simeon
2008       Kevin Dillard, Homewood-Flossmoor
2009       Brandon Paul, Gurnee-Warren
2010       Jereme Richmond, Waukegan
2011       Ryan Boatwright, East Aurora & Chasson Randle, Rock Island (tie)
2012       Jabari Parker, Simeon
2013       Jabari Parker, Simeon
2014       Jahlil Okafor, Whitney Young
2015       Jalen Brunson, Stevenson
2016       Charlie Moore, Morgan Park
2017       Mark Smith, Edwardsville
2018       EJ Liddell, Belleville West
2019       EJ Liddell, Belleville West
2020       Adam Miller, Morgan Park

Theme picker