Maine West senior Angela Dugalic Named 2020 Illinois Ms. Basketball

State Stories


Maine West senior Angela Dugalic Named 2020 Illinois Ms. Basketball

Bookmark and Share

The Chicago Tribune has named Maine West senior Angela Dugalic its 2020 Illinois Ms. Basketball award winner based on a statewide vote by coaches and media.

A McDonald’s All-American, Dugalic is slated to continue her playing career at the University of Oregon next year. The 6-4 Dugalic led the Warriors to back-to-back state final appearances as a sophomore and junior, placing third in 2018, before winning the school’s second state title as a junior in 2019. Dugalic’s senior season ended with a Super-Sectional loss to eventual state champ Fremd.

Dugalic received three times more first-place votes than the second-place finisher. 2020 Ms. Basketball voting results, as well as past winners, posted below.

Click here to read the Tribune's announcement story.

1. Angela Dugalic, Maine West, Sr., 166 points (24)
2. Darrione Rogers, Roselle Lake Park, Sr., 84 points (8)
3. Aneesah Morrow, Chicago Simeon, Sr., 73 points (7)
4. Lindsey Dullard, Morton, Sr., 48 points (6)
5. Taylor Gugliuzza, Lincoln-Way West, Sr., 33 points (4)
6. Kylie Feuerbach, Sycamore, Sr., 26 points (3)
T-7. Amber Storr, Kankakee, Sr., 24 points (3)
T-7. Halle Douglass, Lake Forest, Sr., 24 points (3)
9. Erin Henze, Lanark Eastland, Sr., 20 points (3)
10. Anna Heffren, Lewistown, Sr., 17 points (2)

Others receiving votes: Jeniah Thompson, Carterville, Sr., 11 points (2); Kayla Green, Chicago Whitney Young, Sr., 11 points (1); Emily Klaczek, Palatine Fremd, Sr., 8 points (1); Capria Brown, Danville Schlarman, Sr., 5 points (1); Lydia Coatney, Lanark Eastland, Sr., 6 points; Brooke Schramek, Lisle Benet, Sr., 5 points; Erin Henze, Lanark Eastland, Sr., 3 points; Peyton Kennedy, Rockford Boylan, Sr., 2 points; Kendall Holmes, Lisle Benet, Sr., 2 points.
NOTE: 69 ballots cast, first-place votes in parentheses; 5-3-1 vote value.

1986       Doris Carie, Teutopolis
1987       Cindy Kaufmann, Seneca
1988       Nancy Kennelly, Maine West
1989       LaTonia Foster, Marshall
1990       Courtney Porter, Hume Shiloh
1991       Megan Lucid, Mother McAuley
1992       Tammy Van Oppen, Limestone
1993       Kim Williams, Marshall
1994       Michelle Hasheider, Okawville
1995       Tamika Catchings, Stevenson
1996       Tauja Catchings, Stevenson
1997       Courtney Smith, Carlyle
1998       Allison Curtin, Taylorville
1999       Molly McDowell, Nokomis
2000       Cappie Pondexter, Marshall
2001       Cappie Pondexter, Marshall
2002       Candace Parker, Naperville Central
2003       Candace Parker, Naperville Central
2004       Candace Parker, Naperville Central
2005       Lindsay Schrader, Bartlett
2006       Theresa Lisch, Belleville Althoff
2007       Brittany Johnson, Olney E. Richland
2008       Sarah Boothe, Warren
2009       Morgan Tuck, Bolingbrook
2010       Tricia Liston, Fenwick
2011       Ariel Massengale, Bolingbrook
2012       Morgan Tuck, Bolingbrook
2013       Tyra Buss, Mt. Carmel
2014       Tyra Buss, Mt. Carmel
2015       Haley Gorecki, Fremd
2016       Kathleen Doyle, Benet
2017       Breanna Beal, Rock Island
2018       Breanna Beal, Rock Island
2019       Breanna Beal, Rock Island
2020       Angela Dugalic, Maine West




Theme picker