State Stories


IHSA Hearing To Be Held In Springfield on May 20

Bookmark and Share
On Tuesday, May 20, 2014, the Illinois General Assembly’s Elementary & Secondary Education Committee will commence a hearing with the Illinois High School Association (IHSA). Appearing before the committee is a contingent that includes IHSA Executive Director Marty Hickman, members of the IHSA Board of Directors, member school Superintendents, Principals and Coaches, members of the IHSA staff and other related constituents.

“We are pleased to have the opportunity to address the committee on Tuesday,” said IHSA Executive Director Marty Hickman. “We hope our appearance clears up any misconceptions about our operations and processes.”

According to the Illinois General Assembly website, the hearing is scheduled for 10:00 a.m. in Room 115 at the Capitol Building in Springfield.

“When the Resolution passed (on April 7) we were overwhelmed by the number of individuals who reached out asking if they could appear in support of the IHSA at the hearing,” said Hickman. “We expected that the short notice, coupled with the eight ongoing state tournaments (Baseball, Girls Soccer, Softball, Boys Tennis, Boys/Girls Track, Boys/Girls Water Polo) and normal end of the school year activities, would limit attendance, but that hasn’t been the case.”

Over 50 individuals (listed below) are expected to attend Tuesday’s hearing in support of the IHSA.

“I think there has been some misinformation given to the General Assembly regarding the IHSA,” said Hickman. “We were able to address some of it on our website (click here to read) and look forward to answering the committee’s questions to help further restore our reputation. Really though, when it comes to issues like transparency, who better to speak to that than the individuals we work with from our schools. We will be proud to stand alongside them on Tuesday, along with so many others who have offered encouragement but cannot attend.”

Expected to appear in Springfield on Tuesday in support of the IHSA are:

Wauconda High School Principal & Board President Dan Klett
East Peoria High School Superintendent/Principal & Board Vice-President Chuck Nagel
Andrew High School Principal Bob Nolting
Breese Central High School Principal B. Kent Jones
Maroa-Forsyth High School Principal Scott Adreon
University High School (Urbana) Principal Jeanette Nuckolls

Antioch High School Athletic Director Steve Schoenfelder
Belleville East High School Athletic Director Jim Loyet
Champaign Central High School Athletic Director John Woods
Champaign Central High School Boys Basketball Coach Wayne McClain
Champaign Central High School Boys Basketball Asst. Coach Sergio McClain
Deerfield High School Athletic Director Robert Ruiz
Edwardsville High School Athletic Director Brad Bevis
Edwardsville High School Principal Dennis Cramsey
Edwardsville Superintendent Dr. Ed Hightower
Effingham High School Athletic Director Dave Woltman
Elmwood High School teacher & Elmwood-Brimfield Coop Football Coach Todd Hollis
Heyworth High School Athletic & IADA President Charlie Lockenour
Hinsdale Central High School Athletic Director Dan Jones
Hinsdale South High School Athletic Director Kim Maloney
Johnsburg High School Football Coach Mike Maloney
Joliet Township District Director of Activities & Athletics Chris Olson
Lakes Community High School Athletic Director Troy Parola
Libertyville High School Athletic Director Briant Kelly
Lincoln High School Athletic Director Sam Knox
Mascoutah High School Cheerleading Coach Laurie Wager
Meridian High School (Macon) Principal & Boys Basketball Coach Jack Blickensderfer
Metamora Superintendent Randy Toepke
Metamora High School Athletic Director Jared Hart
Mother McAuley (Chicago) Athletic Director Laurie Jakubczak
Rockridge High School Principal Katy Hasson
Rochester High School Athletic Director/Girls Basketball Coach J.R. Boudouris
Marian Catholic High School (Woodstock) Athletic Director Drew Pothoff
Mundelein High School Athletic Director Perry Wilhelm
Salem High School Athletic Director Scott Steward
Stevenson High School Athletic Director Tricia Betthauser
St. Ignatius (Chicago) Athletic Director Jim Prunty
Teutopolis Athletic Director Andy Johnson
University High School (Normal) Athletic Director Wendy Smith
Washington High School Athletic Director Herb Knoblauch
Washington High School Football Coach Darrell Crouch

Bloomington-Normal Area Convention & Visitors Bureau Director Crystal Howard
Champaign County Convention & Visitors Bureau President & CEO Jayne DeLuce
Chicago Public Schools Athletic Administrator Mickey Pruitt
Illinois Athletic Directors Association retired AD representative Jim Bloch (New Trier)
Illinois Athletic Directors Association retired AD representative Washington Bush (Conant)
Illinois Athletic Directors Association retired AD representative Jack Drolinger (Fremd)
Illinois Athletic Directors Association retired AD representative Tim Feigh (Hinsdale South)
Illinois Athletic Directors Association retired AD representative Mike Morris (Lyons)
Illinois Athletic Directors Association retired AD representative Bill Murphy (Prairie Ridge)
Illinois Athletic Directors Association retired AD representative Doug Smith (Naperville North)
Illinois Athletic Trainers Association President Eric Streter, MS, ATC
Illinois Athletic Trainers Association President-Elect Mike Sullivan, MS, ATC
Illinois Speech Wire director Ben Stewart
Peoria Area Convention & Visitors Bureau President/CEO Don Welch
Louisville Slugger Sports Complex Director Dan Cunningham (Peoria)
Sister John Baricevic, IHSA Scholastic Bowl Head Editor (Belleville)
WQRL Radio Sports Director Jim Muir (Benton)
Posted In: General

Theme picker