State Stories


2021 IHSA All-State Academic Team

Bookmark and Share

On Friday, February 26, 2021, the IHSA announced the 26 members of the 2021 IHSA All-State Academic Team. The team was revealed in the video message below by IHSA Assistant Executive Director Stacey Lambert:

"Presenting this amazing group of students is always one of the highlights of the school year,” said Lambert. "However, it takes on an even more special meaning given the challenges these young people have faced over the past year. They embody the IHSA’s mission, excelling in the classroom, in addition to the multiple sports and activities that they participate in. It really is an accomplishment just to be nominated for this award, so we commend them for their resiliency in sticking with both their studies and extracurriculars as best as possible during the unprecedented events of the last year.”

Every IHSA member school was invited to nominate one female student and one male student to be a part of this prestigious team. Nominees needed to possess a minimum 3.50 grade point average on a 4.0 scale after their 7th semester, have participated in at least two IHSA sponsored activities during each of the last two years of high school and demonstrated outstanding citizenship. Given the changes to the high school sports and activities schedule caused by the pandemic, students remained eligible for All-State Academic Team if they had planned to participate in their sport or activity.

Honorees are traditionally celebrated at banquet in Bloomington, however, a virtual program is currently in the works for this spring.

The nominations were evaluated by a committee made up of IHSA principals, athletic directors and activities directors. One male winner and one female winner from each of the seven IHSA Board of Directors Divisions were selected initially, while the final 12 spots on the team were then rounded out with at-large candidates from anywhere in the state.

2021 IHSA All-State Academic Team

  • Alexi Fogo, Eureka          
  • Andrew Kribs, Jerseyville (Jersey)
  • Brooke Stromsland, Lake Villa (Lakes)                    
  • Christopher Thulin, Downers Grove (North)
  • Colin Linnen, Chicago (St. Ignatius)          
  • Daniel Renshaw, Mahomet (M.-Seymour)            
  • Elizabeth McNicholas, Chicago (Mother McAuley)
  • Ella Larson, Bloomington (Central Catholic)          
  • Isabel Kapustka, Chicago (Payton)
  • Josh Woodrey, Fairbury (Prairie Central)
  • Justin Mumford, Trenton (Wesclin)         
  • Kate Dickman, LaGrange (Lyons)
  • Katherine Lemke, Wheaton (St. Francis)
  • Katrina Geiersbach, Hinsdale (Central)
  • Kris Shah, Algonquin (Jacobs)    
  • Lydia Roller, Staunton   
  • Molly FitzPatrick, Barrington
  • Nate Youman, Stillman Valley
  • Pierce Cousins, Glen Ellyn (Glenbard West)
  • Rachel Hilby, Rockford (Boylan Catholic)
  • Ryan Wong, Chicago (Lane Tech)
  • Sydney Hartoin, Troy (Triad)
  • Tatum Settelmeyer, St. Charles (North) 
  • Thomas Kavanaugh, Chicago (Marist)
  • Thomas Matheson, Gurnee (Warren)
  • William Braid, Herrin (H.S.)                                                                         

Honorable Mention Team

  • Caroline Adam, Rock Island (Alleman)
  • Gavin Baird, Martinsville
  • Ty Baxter, Downs (Tri-Valley)
  • Savanah Beavers, Stanford (Olympia)
  • Connor Bryan, Kewanee (H.S.)
  • Thomas Bumann, Woodhull (AlWood)
  • Lily Carey, Skokie (Niles West)
  • Breanna Ciemny, Joliet (Catholic Academy)
  • Aaliyah Denius, Fithian (Oakwood)
  • Brigid Dunn, Carlinville
  • Kelsey Dwyer, Palos Hills (Stagg)
  • Elizabeth Eck, Springfield (Lutheran)
  • Alyssa Eckels, Palatine (H.S.)
  • Matthew Egly, Oswego (H.S.
  • Shayna Ellis, Chicago (Jones)
  • Caleb Farthing, Auburn
  • Kieran Favazza, Alton (Sr)
  • Rogerio Fragale, Yorkville (H.S.)
  • Eamon Glascott, Chicago (Payton)
  • Benjamin Haake, Carterville
  • McKenna Handy, Pecatonica
  • Owen Hays, LaGrange (Lyons)
  • Alyssa Heitz, Peru (St. Bede)
  • Macie Lucas, Roxana
  • Sean Mahanes, Chicago (Brother Rice)
  • Levi Maierhofer, Seneca
  • Matthew Meyer, Niles (Notre Dame)
  • Alyssa Miulli, South Elgin
  • Alden Moss, Breese (Mater Dei)
  • Briar Nevills, Savanna (West Carroll)
  • Megan Ng, Northfield (Christian Heritage Academy)
  • Andrew Niser, Chicago (Jones)
  • Jesika Pabello, Chicago (CICS Northtown)
  • Dane Pfeiferling, Hamilton
  • Jackson Pree, Gilman (Iroquois West)
  • Evan Roper, Barrington
  • Kenzie Rushing, Pickneyville
  • Benjamin Schneiderheinze, Lake Villa (Lakes)
  • Delaney Seligmann, Oak Park (Fenwick)
  • Olivia Spraul , Effingham (St. Anthony)
  • Anthony Standish, Aurora (Marmion Academy)
  • Cameron Strubbe, Carlinville
  • Finola Summerville, Lake Forest (H.S.)
  • Evan Sutton, Highland
  • Laine Torrance, Macomb
  • Amber Vroman, Seneca
  • Emily White, Sullivan
  • Josie Woodrome, Nashville
  • Iris Xie, Chicago (University)
  • Andrew Yatzkan, Wheaton (St. Francis)

Theme picker