2017 Speech-Individual Events

State Stories


2017 Speech-Individual Events

Bookmark and Share

The 2017 IHSA Speech-Individual Events State Finals will be held on Friday and Saturday, February 17-18 at the Peoria Civic Center in Peoria. The 2017 state meet marks the 77th annual edition of the state final and the eighth year that the Peoria Civic Center has hosted the event.

Saturday's award performances will be streamed live on the NFHS Network via www.IHSA.tv at 5:30 p.m. with a subscription.

State champions will be crowned in 14 events over the course of the meet, including an overall team champion based upon points earned in each individual event. A top team will also be recognized in the Performance in the Round category, although that event does not earn points toward the overall team title.

The 2016 finals saw a first-time team state champion crowned from the second year in a row, as Prospect won its first-ever state championship behind state champions in four events (Humorous Duet Acting, Humorous Interpretation, Original Oratory, Prose Reading). Wheaton Warrenville South, the 2014 state champ, placed second for the second consecutive year, just ahead of neighbor Wheaton North, who placed third for the third time in school history. Wheaton Warrenville South was led by Maddie Corgiat, who won a pair of state titles in Dramatic Interpretation and Original Comedy. Oak Lawn (4th) and Neuqua Valley (5th) rounded out the Top 5, while 16-time state champion Downers Grove South finished in sixth-place. Hinsdale Central followed its state championship season in seventh place, while Downers Grove North (8th), Normal West (tied 9th) and Richards (tied 9th) rounded out the Top 10.

Below is a list of the 2016 individual event state champions in each event:

Dramatic Duet Acting
Kaeley Clark & Vaughn Smith, Oak Lawn Community

Dramatic Interpretation
Maddie Corgiat, Wheaton Warrenville South

Extemporaneous Speaking
Ani Chalian, Normal West

Humorous Duet Acting
Ben Marshall & Molly McDermott, Prospect

Humorous Interpretation
Andrew Pittman, Prospect

Impromptu Speaking
Akire Hawkins, Blue Island Eisenhower

Oratorical Declamation
Megan Manoj, Elk Grove

Original Comedy
Maddie Corgiat, Wheaton Warrenville South

Original Oratory
Jimmy McDermott, Prospect

Prose Reading
Kit Fitzgerald, Prospect

Radio Speaking
Hannah Thompson, Downers Grove North

Special Occasion Speaking
Jocelyn Billheimer, Chicago Heights Marian

Poetry Reading
Presleigh Renner, Hinsdale Central

Informative Speaking
Christina Su, Normal University

Performance in the Round (exhibition)
We Band of Brothers, Chicago Heights Marian

77th annual State Series
8th year at Peoria Civic Center


Peoria Civic Center (Peoria)


Friday, February 17
Round 1
Section A - 1:30 p.m.
Section B - 3:00 p.m.
Section C - 4:30 p.m.

Saturday, February 18
Round 2
Section A - 8:30 a.m.
Section B - 9:45 a.m.
Section C - 11:00 a.m.
Finals 1 - 1:30 p.m.
Dramatic Duet Acting, Humorous Interpretation, Impromptu Speaking, Original Comedy, Poetry Reading, Prose Reading, Oratory

Finals 2 - 3:00 p.m.
Dramatic Interpretation, Extemporaneous Speaking, Humorous Duet Acting, Poetry Reading, Radio Speaking, Special Occasion Speaking,
Informative Speaking

Awards 5:30 p.m.

No charge for this event


Saturday Awards (5:30 P.M.) broadcast live on www.IHSA.tv

All Results via SpeechWire

Gear from Minerva

Souvenir Program


Twitter - @IHSAstate

Instagram - @IHSA_IL


Classic IHSA YouTube Video


Country Financial

Wilson Sporting Goods



2017 State Series Results

Record Book & Past Champions

Theme picker