State Stories


2016 IHSA All-State Academic Team Presented by Caterpillar Announced

Bookmark and Share
IHSA Assistant Executive Director Stacey Lambert announced the 26 members of the 2016 IHSA All-State Academic Team presented by Caterpillar on Tuesday, February 16, 2016:

“This group is the best of the best,” said Lambert. “They embody the IHSA’s mission, excelling in the classroom, in addition to the multiple sports and activities that they participate in. It really is an accomplishment just to be nominated for this award, and I hope the schools and communities that had winners are as proud of this accomplishment as we are to have these young people represent the IHSA.”

Every IHSA member school was invited to nominate one female student and one male student to be a part of the prestigious team. Nominees needed to possess a minimum 3.50 grade point average on 4.0 scale after their 7th semester, have participated in at least two IHSA sponsored activities during each of the last two years of high school and demonstrated outstanding citizenship.

The nominations were evaluated by a committee made up of IHSA principals, athletic directors and activities directors. One male winner and one female winner from each of the seven IHSA Board of Directors Divisions were selected initially, while the final 12 spots on the team were then rounded out with at-large candidates from anywhere in the state.

2015-16 All-State Academic Team

Michaela Goodley, Annawan
Colleen Madden, Carlinville
Harrison Thomas, Carterville
Chase McAdams, Carrollton
Jennifer Kimbro, Catlin (Salt Fork)
Samuel Detmer, Chicago (Payton)
Tess Russell, Chicago (St. Ignatius College Prep)
Samuel Wischnewsky, Chicago (Whitney Young)
Maura Walsh, Des Plaines (Willows Academy)
Will Daniels, Geneseo
Allison Zobrist, Highland
Connor Madell, LaGrange (Lyons)
Anika Boyd, Lake Forest (H.S.)
Taylor Campos, Lemont (H.S.)
Jack Hyde, Mahomet (M.-Seymour)
Sydney Arlis, Minooka
Connor Horn, Naperville (Neuqua Valley)
Julia Wacker, Palatine (Fremd)
Nick Porter, Paxton (P.-Buckley-Loda)
Maria Brauer, Petersburg (PORTA)
Rachael Lau, Plainfield (North)
Brady Rude, Sterling (Newman Central Catholic)
Angelina Ye, Sycamore (H.S.)
Cole Witzig, Troy (Triad)
Adam Doll, Westmont
Justin Loquercio, Wheeling

2015-16 Honorable Mention Team

Rylan Lopez, Belleville (East)
Elijah Walker, Belvidere (North)
Brett Segobiano, Bloomington (Central Catholic)
Adam Schroeder, Bradley (B.-Bourbonnais)
Selin Sipahi, Bradley (B.-Bourbonnais)
Nicole Beebe, Canton
Rebecca Beaupre, Carbondale (H.S.)
Avery English, Carterville
Michael Laird, Chicago (Marist)
Vanessa Villasenor, Chicago (Marist)
Damaris Nunez, Chicago (Noble/Bulls)
Alina Hillery, Chicago (Payton)
Patrick McGrath, Chicago (St. Ignatius College Prep)
Blake Rosenbusch, Chicago (St. Patrick)
Ryan Gudeman, Columbia
Lauren Evelti, Decatur (St. Teresa)
James Kabbes, Effingham (St. Anthony)
Ryan Filkens, El Paso (E.P.-Gridley)
Elizabeth Hagstrom, Elmhurst (York)
Robert Tomaska, Elmhurst (York)
Charlie Maxwell, Evanston (Twp.)
Michael Bersell, Galva
Tarah Fisher, Geneseo
McKenzie Altmayer, Geneva
Claire Baxter, Hampshire
Patrick Bittle, Harrisburg
Cole Burke, Jacksonville (Routt)
Diana Kafkes, LaGrange (Lyons)
Abigail Happ, LaSalle (L.-Peru)
Sean O'Malley, Libertyville
Nathan Bennett, Macomb
Allyson Grabowski, Nashville
Lucas Morgan, Nashville
Zach Tate, Niantic (Sangamon Valley)
Destiny Fawley, Normal (Community)
Fotini Anastopoulos, Norridge (Ridgewood)
Trevor Spreadbury, Oak Lawn (Community)
Nicholas Campbell, Pekin
Meagan McNicholas, Rochester
Matt Anderson, Rockford (Lutheran)
Nicole Althoff, Rockton (Hononegah)
Jake Pence, St. Joseph (S.J.-Ogden)
Marcus Skinner, Shelbyville
Kathryn Sirko, Staunton
Brett Bemis, Sycamore
Anna Hartke, Teutopolis
Daniel King, Tolono (Unity)
Emma Johns, Villa Grove
Madeline O'Neill, Waterloo (Gibault Catholic)
Megan Hansen, Woodstock (H.S.)


Posted In: General

Theme picker