Honorary Referees

2015 State Finals

THE FUTURE PLAYS HERE!

Crenden Keller took a roundabout way to becoming a track & field coach and 30-plus year veteran of the IHSA Boys Track & Field State Finals. He was a golfer while attending Galena High School, a sport he continued to play at Aurora University, where he also joined the wrestling team.

He was hired by Jacobs High School in Algonquin shortly after graduating from Aurora University, beginning a 34-year tenure at the school that included time as a Business teacher, Dean of Students, Assistant Athletic Director and Athletic Director before his retirement in 2011.

Much of that time also coincided with Crenden serving as a track & field coach, including 21 years as the head coach of the Golden Eagle girl's program, and six coaching weights for the boys'. He also served as an assistant coach in both cross country and wrestling during his time at Jacobs.

Crenden is approaching 25 years of experience as a certified IHSA track & field and cross country official. He remains active officiating middle school and high school meets, including several IHSA Sectionals.







CHARLES ROD

His work at the Spring Spectacular spans over three decades, starting as a picker on the line during his first year. He was also a triple jump judge for a year, discus judge for two years, and has worked in the ring or judged the shot put ever since, ascending to his current role as Shot Put Ring Judge. Crenden has attended every IHSA Boys Track & Field State Final meet since 1979 as a coach or volunteer.

As a life-long track & field and sports enthusiast, **Charles Rod Shurtz** began working at the IHSA Boys Track & Field State Finals in 1985. He started in the pole vault event and ascended to work in several different roles, including working as an Assistant Starter, Starter and Referee. Rod is currently serving as a Finish Line Marshall, working in tandem with his wife, Marjorie.

ILLINOIS HIGH SCHOOL ASSOCIATION

The Waltonville native is still an active IHSA track & field official, currently in his 30th year of service to the sport. He has served as a Starter and Referee at numerous Sectionals throughout Southern Illinois, and was honored in 2001 by the National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) as the Boys Track & Field Official of the Year.

In addition to working track meets, Rod has volunteered his services at the IHSA Cross Country Finals, while also working two National Junior College Cross Country Finals at Rend Lake College. He has served on the chain gang at Benton High School home football games since 1975 and has attended the IHSA Basketball State Finals nearly every season since 1948, with the exception of four years while serving his country in the United States Navy.

Reflecting on his career, he says "it's been a blessing to watch my sons, grandsons, and granddaughter participate in the IHSA State Finals. I am 82 years young and still have enthusiasm for all the things mentioned above. The journey continues!"

Honor Roll of Boys Track and Field Honorary Referees

1960	Robert S. Woodruff, Oak Park	1981	Jack D. May, Urbana	2002	John Craft, Charleston	2008	Mark Jostes, East Peoria
1961	Shelby Himes, Urbana	1982	Richard K. Welty, Palatine	2003	Glenn Cothern, Gibson City	2009	James Lewis, Northwoods
1962	Harry Hill, Gridley	1983	Gene Masters, Normal		Renny Garshelis, Charleston		Doug Chapman, Belvidere
1963	C.L. Harriss, Carlyle	1984	Russ Deason, LaGrange		Ralph Krupke, Roselle	2010	Larry Cleair, Gordonville, MO
1964	Clarence East, Elmhurst	1985	Bill Brandvold, Mattoon		Jerry McGuire, Oak Park		Art Sievers, Monticello
1965	Milt F. Sprunger, Washington	1986	Gail Borton, West Frankfort	2004	Joyce Carlson, Lemont	2011	John Cheney, Oak Park
1966	Ross Anderson, Oak Park	1987	Taylor Thomas, Urbana		Bob Hout, Effingham		Carl Magsamen, Schaumburg
1967	Emil G. "Heinie" Schultz, Evanston	1988	Charles Feutz, Hoffman Estates		Dr. Ken Kite, Hoffman Estates		Tom Miller, Dundee
1968	W. W. Downing, East St. Louis	1989	Leonard Wilson, Urbana		Warren McGhee, Canton	2012	Harry Fletcher, Oregon
1969	Roy S. Anderson, Lincoln	1990	Glen Hamilton, Pinckneyville		Joe Newton, Elmhurst		Darrell Prince, Dyer, IN
1970	Jim Evers, Centralia	1991	Tony Sacco, River Forest		John Polka, Oak Park		Chris Perry, Peoria
1971	A. G. "Frenchie" Haussler, Peoria	1992	Chic Anderson, Palatine	2005	Bill Bulat, Rock Island	2013	David Axelrod, Highland Park
1972	Leo L. Singer, Waukegan	1993	Walter Elmore, Charleston		Larry Miller, Ottawa		David Daugherty, Carlinville
1973	Harry E. Gaines, Mattoon	1994	100th Celebration		Ben Ward, Chicago	2014	Dwayne Foote, Libertyville
1974	Harold G. Monilaw, LaGrange	1995	Harold "Tuffy" Bowen, Farmington	2006	Floyd Rogers, Crystal Lake		Paul Neakrase, Washington
1975	Clarence B. "Babe" Pierce, Sparta	1996	Phil Salzer, Peoria		Loyd Grafford,Wood River		Jerzy Marszalek, Sheridan
1976	John S. Gill, Elmhurst	1997	Carlin Nalley, Lisle		Ron Campbell, Skokie	2015	Crenden Keller, Crystal Lake
1977	Eugene (Gene) Armer, Urbana	1998	Willie May, Chicago		Angelo Rinchiuso, Decatur		Charles Rod Shurtz, Waltonville
1978	Roy Gummerson, Oak Park	1999	Dick Hamann, Carrollton	2007	John Mills, Sullivan		
1979	Ira Scott, Naperville	2000	Ron Helberg, Huntley		Dan Moy, Jacksonville		
1980	George Dekan, Carol Stream	2001	Ray Collier, Aurora		Jerry Parsons, Normal		