Boys Golf Results 2000 

Alton (Sr.) Boys Golf Sectional Results

Posted Tuesday, October 10, 2000 at 7:37 pm

These results were submitted by the tournament (or meet) manager. If you notice an error or omission, please call the IHSA Office immediately at 309-663-6377 or e-mail Scott Johnson at

These results are posted as a convenience to fans and media, and still need to be checked by the IHSA Office for accuracy and completeness. All names and results appearing on this report are subject to verification by the IHSA Office before advancement is official.

Manager's Note

Andy Gwinup of Edwardsville beat Chris Eddy of Belleville East with a birdie on the first playoff hole for medalist honors. There was a three way tie for the last two individual qualifiers between James Sager of Salem, Ryan Soteropoulos of O'Fallon, and Matt Yelovich of Mt. Zion. Soteropolous was eliminated on the third playoff hole. The team championship was a tie between Southwestern Conference rivals Alton and Edwardsville.

Golf Course

Name of Golf Course: The Woodlands Golf course                 
Length of course (in yards): 6401
Par: 71

First-Place Medalist

Golfer                Yr   School                    Scor 
Andy Gwinup           Jr.  Edwrdsville               72

Advancing Individuals

NOTE: In boys sectionals, only golfers who qualified for the sectional as individuals may advance to the state final as individuals.
Pl  Golfer                Yr   School                    Scor Coach                 
1   Andy Gwinup           Jr.  Edwardsville              72   Denny Erlich
2   Chris Eddy            Sr.  Belleville East           72   Jim Reynolds
3   Mitch Vandenboom      Sr.  Quincy                    73   Jeff Wallace
T 4 Max Harres            So.  Belleville West           74   Clayton Fisher
T 4 Brian Burns           Sr.  Eisenhower                74   Mike Rusk
T 4 Ethan Roush           Jr.  Mt. Zion                  74   Ed Neighbors
T 8 Tyler Dunn            So.  Alton                     75   Todd Cress
T 8 Dustin Sloat          Jr.  Charleston                75   Stan Adkins
T 8 Brent Holmes          Jr.  Edwardsville              75   Denny Erlich
T 11 Matt Yelovich         Jr.  Mt. Zion                  76   Ed Neighbors
T 11 James Sager           Jr.  Salem                     76   William Morgan
T 4 Billy Woosley         Sr.  Murphysboro               74   Steve Stewart

Advancing Teams

Pl  School                          Scor Head Coach        
T 1 Alton                           310  Todd Cress
T 1 Edwardsville                    310  Denny Erlich
T 3 Charleston                      313  Stan Adkins
T 3 Eisenhower                      313  Mike Rusk

Advancing Team #1

Name of School: Alton                              
Golfer Yr Scor Scott Bechtold Sr. 91 Alex Butler Jr. 80 Zach Deeder Sr. 96 Tyler Dunn So. 75 Brian Kuddes So. 78 Danny Lester Jr. 77

Advancing Team #2

Name of School: Edwardsville                       
Golfer Yr Scor Nathan Culp So. 84 Andy Gwinup Jr. 72 Brent Holmes Jr. 75 Chris Odom So. 79 Andrew Reznack So. 86 Ryan Supple Jr. 88

Advancing Team #3

Name of School: Charleston                         
Golfer Yr Scor Chris Brooks Jr. 75 Scott Frankie Jr. 95 Justin LaPlante Jr. 83 Nick Meissen So. 96 Dustin Sloat Jr. 75 Ben wochner Sr. 80

Advancing Team #4

Name of School: Eiwenhower                         
Golfer Yr Scor Brian Burns Sr. 74 Nick Chadwick So. 78 Dan Goebel Sr. 85 Rob Laegeler Sr. 80 Wes Lugten So. 91 Matt Sykes Sr. 81