Illinois High School Association
Home | Site Index | About IHSA | About | Feedback

  Boys Bowling Results 2004 

Niles (Notre Dame) Boys Bowling Sectional Results

Posted Saturday, January 24, 2004 at 5:45 pm

These results were submitted by the tournament (or meet) manager. If you notice an error or omission, please call the IHSA Office immediately at 309-663-6377 or e-mail Scott Johnson at

These results are posted as a convenience to fans and media, and still need to be checked by the IHSA Office for accuracy and completeness. All names and results appearing on this report are subject to verification by the IHSA Office before advancement is official.

Manager's Note

Sectional Meet ran very smoothly. River Grove Brunswick Zone was a great host. Ann Groble, Brunswick Zone representative, did an outstanding job facilitating the event. Greg Stegeman was our official scorer and computer operator - without which we would have been lost. Chicago Sullivan High School did not participate in the event. There was great competition and sportsmanship all day long. It was a pleasure hosting the sectional.

Top 5 Bowlers

Pl  Bowler                Yr   School                    Pins    
1   Scott Zaremba         Sr.  Niles Notre Dame          1316
2   Mikey Sanchez         So.  Niles Notre Dame          1297
3   George Murphy         Jr.  Wilmette Loyola Academy   1230
4   Chris Hjelm           So.  Winnetka New Trier        1212
5   Jeff Tyda             Sr.  Niles Notre Dame          1204

Advancing Individuals

Bowler                Yr   School                    Pins    Coach                 
Chris Hjelm           So.  Winnetka New Trier        1212    David Schmittgens
Larry Champion        So.  Chicago Roosevelt         1170    Joel Piotrowski
Walter Frank          Jr.  Chicago Taft              1157    Elizabeth Carroll

Potential At-Large Individuals

Out of all the potential at-large bowlers, the 4 who finished the fewest pins behind the last automatic at-large qualifier of their respective sectionals will advance to the state final. The following marks were reported from this sectional.
Bowler                Yr   School                    Pins    Coach                 
Nick Geaslin          So.  Winnetka New Trier        1143    David Schmittgens
Eric Mason            So.  Winnteka New Trier        1099    David Schmittgens
Thomas Mortensen      So.  Chicago Von Steuben       1089    Bill Keippel
Lester Coloma         Jr.  Chicago Mather            1079    Damon anderson

Advancing Teams

Pl  School                            Pins Head Coach        
1   Niles Notre Dame                  6051 Bill DeBoard
2   Wilmette Loyola Academy           6017 Mary Jo Stegeman

Advancing Team #1

Name of School: Niles Notre Dame                     
Bowler Yr Pins Scott Zaremba Sr. 1316 Mikey Sanchez So. 1297 Jeff Tyda Sr. 1204 Greg Romanowski Jr. 1176 Justin Wrzesinski So. 723 Chris Stachula So. 189 Brett Dahm Fr. 146 Ryan Harrison Jr. 0

Advancing Team #2

Name of School: Wilmette Loyola Academy              
Bowler Yr Pins George Murphy Jr. 1230 Bob Bednarz Sr. 1203 Nick Baum Sr. 829 Sean St. Onge Sr. 817 Anthony Ortale So. 769 Kenny Kulinski Jr. 628 Russell Bittmann Jr. 541 Erik Howland Jr. 0